CARTO for Students: A 30-day evaluation trial only (no extensions)

Geospatial platform

✅ Active Active · Last verified Oct 21, 2026

What you get

  • A 30-day evaluation trial only (no extensions)
  • production use is quote-based (PayG + three annual commitment tiers)

From the official page: “Trials are for evaluation purposes only — production use is not permitted”

How to claim

Step-by-step instructions are not published on the official page — start from the link on the right and follow the signup flow.

Eligibility

Not stated on the official page — confirm during signup.

Expiry & renewal rules

30-day trial

Availability

Not specified on the official page. Most student programs require enrollment verification; some restrict by region.

FAQ

Is CARTO still free for students in 2026?

Yes, as of Oct 21, 2026. A 30-day evaluation trial only (no extensions) Always double-check the official page before relying on an offer — terms do change.

Do I need a credit card? How long does the CARTO student offer last?

The official page does not state a card requirement clearly — expect to check during signup. Duration details are under Expiry & renewal above. Duration: 30-day trial

What's the catch with CARTO's student program?

The honest caveats: 30-day trial. Student programs are usually limited to non-commercial use, may require yearly re-verification, and can be discontinued with little notice — that is exactly why this page exists. Verify on the official page before building anything on top of a free tier.

More in Developer Tools & IDEs

All Developer Tools & IDEs →