Clerk for Students: The Clerk Pro plan free (officially listed at $240/year): same usage limits as…

Clerk Student plan (GitHub Student Plan)

✅ Active Active · Last verified Oct 21, 2026

What you get

  • The Clerk Pro plan free (officially listed at $240/year): same usage limits as Pro, including 50,000 monthly retained users, multi-factor authentication, 1 enterprise connection, removal of the Clerk branding badge, custom session durations, Clerk Organizations (multi-tenant/B2B SaaS), Billing, a team dashboard where you can invite 2 more members, and unlimited social login methods. The only feature not included is SMS authentication
  • benefits apply to a single workspace.

From the official page: “This $240 annual plan is available to GitHub validated Students at no cost during the duration of their GitHub student tenure. / Your access to the Clerk Student plan is valid until you finish your studies and graduate from the GitHub Student Developer Pack.”

How to claim

  1. Visit https://clerk.com/github-student-developer-pack and click Claim now.
  2. Claim it with your GitHub student-verified account into one workspace.

Eligibility

GitHub validated Students, free for the duration of their GitHub student tenure; the GitHub account must stay connected to claim and keep the benefits; if you have already claimed in one workspace, you cannot claim in another.

Expiry & renewal rules

Valid until you finish your studies and graduate from the GitHub Student Developer Pack; after graduating or leaving your institution you are no longer eligible, the account downgrades to the Hobby plan, and all Student plan benefits end.

Availability

Not specified on the official page. Most student programs require enrollment verification; some restrict by region.

FAQ

Is Clerk still free for students in 2026?

Yes, as of Oct 21, 2026. The Clerk Pro plan free (officially listed at $240/year): same usage limits as Pro, including 50,000 monthly retained users, multi-factor authentication, 1… Always double-check the official page before relying on an offer — terms do change.

Do I need a credit card? How long does the Clerk student offer last?

The official page does not state a card requirement clearly — expect to check during signup. Duration details are under Expiry & renewal above. Duration: Valid until you finish your studies and graduate from the GitHub Student Developer Pack; after graduating or leaving your institution you are no longer eligible, the account downgrades to the Hobby plan, and all Student plan benefits end.

What's the catch with Clerk's student program?

The honest caveats: Valid until you finish your studies and graduate from the GitHub Student Developer Pack; after graduating or leaving your institution you are no longer eligible, the account downgrades to the Hobby plan, and all Student plan benefits end.. Student programs are usually limited to non-commercial use, may require yearly re-verification, and can be discontinued with little notice — that is exactly why this page exists. Verify on the official page before building anything on top of a free tier.

More in Developer Tools & IDEs

All Developer Tools & IDEs →