GitHub for Students: 1 user site per account/organization + unlimited project sites (public…

GitHub Pages

✅ Active Active · Last verified Oct 21, 2026

What you get

  • 1 user site per account/organization + unlimited project sites (public repositories required)
  • no bandwidth limit is shown on the page (documented elsewhere).

From the official page: “You get one site per GitHub account and organization, and unlimited project sites.”

How to claim

  1. Create a public username.github.io repository to publish your site.

Eligibility

A GitHub account.

Expiry & renewal rules

No time limit.

Availability

Not specified on the official page. Most student programs require enrollment verification; some restrict by region.

FAQ

Is GitHub still free for students in 2026?

Yes, as of Oct 21, 2026. 1 user site per account/organization + unlimited project sites (public repositories required) Always double-check the official page before relying on an offer — terms do change.

Do I need a credit card? How long does the GitHub student offer last?

The official page does not state a card requirement clearly — expect to check during signup. Duration details are under Expiry & renewal above. Duration: No time limit.

What's the catch with GitHub's student program?

The honest caveats: No time limit.. Student programs are usually limited to non-commercial use, may require yearly re-verification, and can be discontinued with little notice — that is exactly why this page exists. Verify on the official page before building anything on top of a free tier.

More in Hosting & Domains

All Hosting & Domains →