Microsoft Visual Studio Dev Essentials for Students: Free developer tools, cloud services, and training: Visual Studio Community,…

Visual Studio Dev Essentials

✅ Active Active · Last verified Oct 21, 2026

What you get

  • Free developer tools, cloud services, and training: Visual Studio Community, Visual Studio Community for Mac, Visual Studio Code, CODE Magazine, Pluralsight*, Syncfusion Succinctly Series*, Syncfusion Essential Studio UI Edition*
  • Azure free account (includes 1 year of free services and a $200 credit for the first month), Azure DevOps, Power Apps Community Plan
  • SQL Server Developer Edition, Power BI, Office Online. (* = benefits offered exclusively through Dev Essentials)

From the official page: “Visual Studio Dev Essentials — Free tools, cloud services, and training using the latest Visual Studio. / Azure Free Account – includes 1 year of free services and $200 credit for the 1st month.”

How to claim

Step-by-step instructions are not published on the official page — start from the link on the right and follow the signup flow.

Eligibility

The official page sets no student-specific requirements and is open to all developers (the biggest gap vs. the Pack description: this is not a student-exclusive benefit).

Expiry & renewal rules

The $200 Azure credit is valid for the first month only; the page gives no unified validity or renewal terms for the other benefits.

Availability

Not specified on the official page. Most student programs require enrollment verification; some restrict by region.

FAQ

Is Microsoft Visual Studio Dev Essentials still free for students in 2026?

Yes, as of Oct 21, 2026. Free developer tools, cloud services, and training: Visual Studio Community, Visual Studio Community for Mac, Visual Studio Code, CODE Magazine, Pluralsight*,… Always double-check the official page before relying on an offer — terms do change.

Do I need a credit card? How long does the Microsoft Visual Studio Dev Essentials student offer last?

The official page does not state a card requirement clearly — expect to check during signup. Duration details are under Expiry & renewal above. Duration: The $200 Azure credit is valid for the first month only; the page gives no unified validity or renewal terms for the other benefits.

What's the catch with Microsoft Visual Studio Dev Essentials's student program?

The honest caveats: The $200 Azure credit is valid for the first month only; the page gives no unified validity or renewal terms for the other benefits.. Student programs are usually limited to non-commercial use, may require yearly re-verification, and can be discontinued with little notice — that is exactly why this page exists. Verify on the official page before building anything on top of a free tier.

More in Developer Tools & IDEs

All Developer Tools & IDEs →